Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


2017 OHA Awards

Continuing a tradition established in 1993, the Oral History Association recognizes exemplary oral history work with the following awards which were presented at the 2017 conference:


Article Award

“Allan Nevins is Not My Grandfather: The Roots of Radical Oral History in the United States”
Daniel R. Kerr, The Oral History Review, Volume 43, Issue 2: Summer/Fall 2016

Book Award

A Two-Spirit Journey: The Autobiography of a Lesbian Ojibwa-Cree Elder
Ma-Nee Chacaby and Mary Louisa Plummer, University of Manitoba Press, 2016

Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (large)

Oklahoma 100 Year Life Oral History Project
Oklahoma State University, Alex Bishop and Tanya Finchum

Elizabeth B. Mason Project Award (small)

University High School Oral History Project
University of South Carolina, Christian K. Anderson and Andrea L’Hommedieu

Martha Ross Teaching Award

John Hutchinson, Marin Academy, San Rafael, CA

Oral History in a Nonprint Format Award (two awards in this category)

Gatheround: Stories of Atlanta (Museum Exhibit), Atlanta History Center, Calinda Lee

Making Gay History (Podcast), Eric Marcus

Stetson Kennedy Vox Populi Award

Staughton and Alice Lynd