Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


2018 OHA Award Winners

We are pleased to announce this year’s award winners. They will be recognized at the Presidential Reception, Thursday October 11, in Montreal.


Article Award:

Naoko Wake, “Surviving the Bomb in America: Silent Memories and the Rise of Cross-national Identity,” Pacific Historical Review, Vol. 86 No. 3, August 2017; (pp. 472-509).


Book Award:

S. Elizabeth Bird and Fraser Ottanelli, The Asaba Massacre: Trauma, Memory and the Nigerian Civil War.


Elizabeth B. Mason Project:

Major Award: Shiloh Centre for Multicultural Roots: ‘Black Settlers and Their Experiences of Discrimination on the Canadian Prairies’

Small Award: Stephen Sloan, Baylor University, “Texas Genocide Survivors.”


Non-Print Format Award:

Shiloh Centre for Multicultural Roots “We are the Roots: Black Settlers and their Experiences of Discrimination on the Canadian Prairies.


Stetson Kennedy Vox Populi Award:

Ruth Edmonds Hill


Post-Secondary Teaching Award:

Martha Norkunas


Emerging Crisis Oral History Research Fund:

Dr. Audeliz Matias and Dr. Sheila Marie Aird, “An Oral History of Hurricane Irma and Maria: A Social, Cultural, and Environmental Crisis in P.R and U.S.V.I.”